اليوم العالمي للصحة النفسية 2021

"الصحة النفسية في عالم غير متكافئ"

 

موضوع اليوم العالمي للصحة العقلية لهذا العام في 10 أكتوبر هو "الصحة العقلية في عالم غير متكافئ".

تم اختيار الموضوع من خلال تصويت عالمي أجرته منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ، والتي كانت مسؤولة عن إطلاق الحدث في عام 1992.

في حين أن تغطية اليوم ستكون على نطاق دولي ، كمنظمة Bromley و Lewisham & Greenwich Mind ، تقر بعدم المساواة في الوصول والخبرة ونتائج دعم الصحة العقلية في الأحياء الثلاثة التي نعمل فيها. ندرك أيضًا أنه في العديد من الحالات ، ساعدت عمليات الإغلاق والحماية على تعميق أوجه عدم المساواة هذه.

هناك العديد من أسباب عدم المساواة ، بما في ذلك الجنس والعمر والدخل والتعليم والإعاقة. العرق والعرق يلعبان أيضًا دورًا مهمًا. للاحتفال باليوم العالمي للصحة العقلية ، يتبادل اثنان من موظفي BLG Mind وجهات نظرهم حول أسباب عدم المساواة في الوصول إلى الصحة العقلية وتقديمها ، وكيف ينبغي معالجتها. يقع مقر كل من سميتا باتيل وشينا ويدرمان في لويشام ، وهي السلطة المحلية الخامسة عشرة الأكثر تنوعًا عرقيًا في إنجلترا ، حيث ينتمي اثنان من كل خمسة مقيمين إلى خلفية عرقية من السود والأقليات.

سميتا هو مدير دعم الأقران في خدمة Lewisham Community Wellbeing في BLG Mind ، والتي تتضمن برنامج Engage in ME ، وهو برنامج يوفر دعمًا للصحة العقلية للبالغين من مجتمعات السود والآسيوية والأقليات العرقية واللاجئين.

شينا انضم مؤخرًا إلى BLG Mind كمدير مشروع لمشروع المجتمعات المتنوعة ثقافيًا الجديد. يهدف المشروع إلى التواصل مع أفراد من مجتمعات متنوعة ثقافيًا لم يحصلوا على خدمات الصحة العقلية تاريخيًا.  

سميتا:

سميتا باتيل

"من الضروري أن نؤمن التمويل للمترجمين الفوريين."

هناك مشكلة كبيرة تتعلق بالحواجز اللغوية للعديد من الأقليات العرقية في لويشام. قضايا اللغة ليست في الصدارة كما ينبغي أن تكون في مثل هذه البلدة المتنوعة عرقيًا في لندن. كثير من الناس ليس لديهم صديق أو أحد أفراد الأسرة يمكنه مرافقتهم في المواعيد والترجمة.

يعاني الأشخاص من مجتمعات الأقليات من مشاكل الصحة العقلية التي سببتها الصدمات مثل التعذيب أو الفرار من البلدان التي مزقتها الحرب أو حتى الأحداث التاريخية مثل التقسيم الهندي.

المسلمون والسيخ والبنجابيون والهندوس - جميعهم عانوا أثناء التقسيم. تم اتخاذ قرارات ضخمة بشأن ما إذا كنت تعيش في الهند أو باكستان التي تم إنشاؤها حديثًا ، مما أدى أحيانًا إلى تقسيم العائلات والتسبب في صدمة كبيرة. كان لهذا تأثير كبير ، وعندما يحاول شخص ما شرح كل شيء ، يكون الأمر صعبًا بسبب حاجز اللغة ووصمة العار التي يمكن أن تثيرها قضايا الصحة العقلية داخل العائلات والمجتمعات. لا أعتقد أن خدمات الصحة العقلية تتفهم حقًا الصدمة الخلفية المتضمنة والتي تستمر حتى يومنا هذا.

نحن بحاجة إلى القيام بدور أكبر في تثقيف المجتمع والخدمات حول المساواة والإنصاف من حيث توافر الخدمات وقدرة الناس على الوصول إليها. ليس كل شخص لديه إمكانية الوصول إلى الإنترنت ، والعديد من كبار السن أو أولئك الذين يعيشون في أسر متعددة الأشخاص يفوتون.

لقد بدأت برنامج Engage in ME للأشخاص الذين لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى خدمات أخرى بسبب الاختلافات الثقافية والوصمة العار والحواجز اللغوية. نحن نعمل مع شركاء بما في ذلك تحسين الوصول إلى العلاجات النفسية (IAPT) و Healthwatch Lewisham وشبكة Lewisham Refugee & Migrant Network لمساعدة هذه المجتمعات على تحديد مشكلات الصحة العقلية بنفسها وفهمها في بيئة ثقافية.

لكن من الضروري أن نؤمن التمويل للمترجمين وإلا سنفتقد الكثير من الناس ".

شينا:

"التعليم ووصمة العار شيئان مختلفان."

أعتقد أن التنميط هو أحد أكبر أسباب عدم المساواة في خدمات الصحة العقلية. لا يزال هناك الكثير من العنصرية المؤسسية عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتعامل مع أشخاص من مجتمعات متنوعة ويجب أن نكون قادرين على تحدي ذلك.

لا يفهم الناس تمامًا التحيز الثقافي. يمكننا تثقيف المجتمعات ولكن الناس ينسون وصمة العار ، والتعليم والوصمة شيئان مختلفان.

عندما يخبرنا الناس بتجربتهم الحية للصحة العقلية ، فإننا نقبل ما يقولونه. ولكن إذا قال أحدهم أن شيئًا ما لا يتفق معه ويمكن أن يكون هناك عنصر من العنصرية أو التمييز الجنسي ، فإنه يتم استجوابه. نحن بحاجة إلى الاستماع إلى ما يقوله الناس ، حتى نصدقهم.

هناك مشكلات أخرى مثل انخفاض الهجرة يعني أن هناك عددًا أقل من الأشخاص على وشك العمل كمترجمين. تُعد الأمور المالية والإعاقة أيضًا من المشكلات: فقد لا يمتلك الأشخاص المال اللازم للسفر إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية أو قد يكونون غير قادرين جسديًا على القيام بذلك ولكن ليس لديهم طريقة أخرى للوصول إلى هناك.

يمكن لمشروع المجتمعات المتنوعة ثقافياً أن يحدث فرقاً. ولكن نظرًا لوجود مثل هذه الحاجة الهائلة ، لا يمكن إلا أن تتخلص من القمة. بعد قولي هذا ، إنه لأمر رائع تمامًا وجوده هنا ، وأعتقد أنه في ظل توفر الأشخاص والموارد المناسبة ، من المحتمل أن ينقذ الأرواح ".

World Mental Health Day 2021

‘Mental Health in an Unequal World’

 

The theme of this year’s World Mental Health Day on 10 October is ‘Mental Health in an Unequal World’.

The theme was chosen through a global vote run by the World Health Organisation (WHO), which was responsible for launching the event in 1992.

While coverage of the day will be on an international scale, as an organisation Bromley, Lewisham & Greenwich Mind acknowledges inequalities in access, experience and outcomes of mental health support in the three boroughs in which we operate. We also recognise that in many instances Covid 19, lockdowns and shielding have served to further deepen those inequalities.

There are numerous causes of inequality, including gender, age, income, education and disability. Race and ethnicity also play a significant role. To mark World Mental Health Day, two BLG Mind staff share their perspectives on the causes of inequality in mental health access and provision, and how they should be addressed. Smita Patel and Sheena Wedderman are both based in Lewisham, the 15th most ethnically diverse local authority in England, where two out of every five residents are from a black and minority ethnic background.

Smita is the Peer Support Manager for BLG Mind’s Lewisham Community Wellbeing service, which includes Engage in ME, a programme providing mental health support to adults from Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic and Refugee communities.

Sheena recently joined BLG Mind as Project Manager of the new Culturally Diverse Communities Project. The project aims to engage with individuals from culturally diverse communities who have not historically accessed mental health services.  

Smita:

Smita Patel

“It’s vital we secure funding for interpreters.”

“There’s a huge problem with language barriers for many ethnic minority groups in Lewisham. Language issues are not at the forefront as they should be in such an ethnically diverse London borough. Many people don’t have a friend or family member who can accompany them to appointments and translate.

People from minority communities have mental health problems that have been caused by trauma such as torture, fleeing from war-torn countries or even historical events such as the Indian Partition.

Muslims, Sikhs, Punjabis, Hindus – all suffered during Partition. Huge decisions were made on whether you lived in India or the newly created Pakistan, sometimes splitting-up families and causing huge trauma. This has had a huge impact, and when someone tries to explain it all it’s difficult because of the language barrier and the stigma mental health issues can raise within families and communities. I don’t think mental health services really understand the background trauma involved that continues to this day.

We need to take more of a role in educating the community and services about equality and fairness in terms of the availability of services and the ability of people to access them. Not everyone has access to the internet, and many elderly people or those living in multi-person households miss out.

I started Engage in ME for people who were not able to access other services due to cultural differences, stigma, language barriers. We work with partners including Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT), Healthwatch Lewisham and Lewisham Refugee & Migrant Network to help these communities self-identify mental health issues and understand them in a cultural setting.

But it’s vital we secure funding for interpreters or we will miss a lot of people.”

Sheena:

“Education and stigma are two different things.”

“I believe stereotyping is one of the biggest causes of inequalities in mental health services. There’s still a lot of institutional racism when it comes to dealing with people from diverse communities and we need to be able to challenge that.

People don’t fully understand cultural bias. We can educate the communities but people forget about the stigma, and education and stigma are two different things.

When people tell us their lived experience of mental health, we accept what they’re saying. But if someone says that something doesn’t sit right with them and there could be an element of racism or sexism, it’s questioned. We need to listen to what people have to say, to believe them.

Other issues such as reduced immigration mean there are fewer people about to act as translators. Finances and disability are also issues: people might not have the money to travel to mental health services or might be physically unable to do so but have no other way of getting there.

The Culturally Diverse Communities Project can make a difference. But because there is such a huge need it can only scrape the top. That said, it’s absolutely brilliant that it’s here, and I do think that given the right people and resources it could potentially save lives.”