2021年世界精神卫生日

“不平等世界中的心理健康”

 

今年10月XNUMX日世界精神卫生日的主题是“不平等世界中的精神卫生”。

该主题是由世界卫生组织 (WHO) 通过全球投票选出的,世界卫生组织 (WHO) 负责于 1992 年发起该活动。

虽然当天的报道将在国际范围内进行,但作为一个组织,Bromley, Lewisham & Greenwich Mind 承认我们运营所在的三个行政区在获得心理健康支持的机会、经验和结果方面存在不平等。 我们还认识到,在许多情况下,Covid 19、封锁和防护措施进一步加深了这些不平等。

造成不平等的原因有很多,包括性别、年龄、收入、教育和残疾。 种族和民族也发挥着重要作用。 为纪念世界精神卫生日,BLG Mind 的两名员工分享了他们对精神卫生获取和提供方面不平等的原因以及应如何解决这些问题的看法。 Smita Patel 和 Sheena Wedderman 都居住在刘易舍姆,这是英格兰第 15 位种族多元化的地方当局,五分之二的居民来自黑人和少数民族背景。

史密塔 是 BLG Mind 的 Lewisham Community Wellbeing 服务的同伴支持经理,其中包括 Engage in ME,这是一项为黑人、亚洲人、少数民族和难民社区的成年人提供心理健康支持的计划.

希娜 最近加入 BLG Mind,担任新的多元文化社区项目的项目经理。 该项目旨在与历史上从未获得过心理健康服务的多元文化社区的个人接触。  

斯密塔:

斯米塔·帕特尔(Smita Patel)

“为口译员争取资金至关重要。”

“刘易舍姆的许多少数民族存在语言障碍的巨大问题。 语言问题并不是最重要的,因为它们应该在这样一个种族多元化的伦敦自治市镇。 许多人没有可以陪他们赴约和翻译的朋友或家人。

来自少数民族社区的人有心理健康问题,这些问题是由酷刑等创伤、逃离战乱国家甚至印度分治等历史事件造成的。

穆斯林、锡克教徒、旁遮普人、印度教徒——都在分裂期间遭受苦难。 你是否住在印度或新成立的巴基斯坦做出了巨大的决定,有时会导致家庭分裂并造成巨大的创伤。 这产生了巨大的影响,当有人试图解释这一切时,这很困难,因为语言障碍和心理健康问题可能在家庭和社区中引起。 我认为心理健康服务并没有真正了解持续至今的背景创伤。

我们需要在教育社区和服务方面发挥更多作用,让他们了解服务的可用性和人们获得服务的能力方面的平等和公平。 并非每个人都可以访问互联网,许多老年人或居住在多人家庭中的人错过了互联网。

我开始为因文化差异、耻辱、语言障碍而无法获得其他服务的人提供参与 ME。 我们与合作伙伴合作,包括改善心理治疗的可及性 (IAPT)、Healthwatch Lewisham 和 Lewisham Refugee & Migrant Network,以帮助这些社区自我识别心理健康问题并在文化环境中了解它们。

但我们必须确保为口译员提供资金,否则我们会错过很多人。”

谢娜:

“教育和污名是两件事。”

“我相信刻板印象是心理健康服务不平等的最大原因之一。 在与来自不同社区的人打交道时,仍然存在很多制度性种族主义,我们需要能够挑战这一点。

人们并不完全理解文化偏见。 我们可以教育社区,但人们忘记了污名,教育和污名是两件事。

当人们告诉我们他们在心理健康方面的生活经验时,我们会接受他们所说的。 但是,如果有人说某事不适合他们,并且可能存在种族主义或性别歧视的元素,则会受到质疑。 我们需要倾听人们所说的话,相信他们。

其他问题,例如减少移民,意味着将要担任翻译的人越来越少。 财务和残疾也是问题:人们可能没有钱去心理健康服务,或者可能身体上无法这样做但没有其他方式去那里。

多元文化社区项目可以发挥作用。 但因为有如此巨大的需求,所以只能刮顶。 也就是说,它在这里绝对很棒,而且我确实认为,如果有合适的人员和资源,它可能会挽救生命。”

World Mental Health Day 2021

‘Mental Health in an Unequal World’

 

The theme of this year’s World Mental Health Day on 10 October is ‘Mental Health in an Unequal World’.

The theme was chosen through a global vote run by the World Health Organisation (WHO), which was responsible for launching the event in 1992.

While coverage of the day will be on an international scale, as an organisation Bromley, Lewisham & Greenwich Mind acknowledges inequalities in access, experience and outcomes of mental health support in the three boroughs in which we operate. We also recognise that in many instances Covid 19, lockdowns and shielding have served to further deepen those inequalities.

There are numerous causes of inequality, including gender, age, income, education and disability. Race and ethnicity also play a significant role. To mark World Mental Health Day, two BLG Mind staff share their perspectives on the causes of inequality in mental health access and provision, and how they should be addressed. Smita Patel and Sheena Wedderman are both based in Lewisham, the 15th most ethnically diverse local authority in England, where two out of every five residents are from a black and minority ethnic background.

Smita is the Peer Support Manager for BLG Mind’s Lewisham Community Wellbeing service, which includes Engage in ME, a programme providing mental health support to adults from Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic and Refugee communities.

Sheena recently joined BLG Mind as Project Manager of the new Culturally Diverse Communities Project. The project aims to engage with individuals from culturally diverse communities who have not historically accessed mental health services.  

Smita:

Smita Patel

“It’s vital we secure funding for interpreters.”

“There’s a huge problem with language barriers for many ethnic minority groups in Lewisham. Language issues are not at the forefront as they should be in such an ethnically diverse London borough. Many people don’t have a friend or family member who can accompany them to appointments and translate.

People from minority communities have mental health problems that have been caused by trauma such as torture, fleeing from war-torn countries or even historical events such as the Indian Partition.

Muslims, Sikhs, Punjabis, Hindus – all suffered during Partition. Huge decisions were made on whether you lived in India or the newly created Pakistan, sometimes splitting-up families and causing huge trauma. This has had a huge impact, and when someone tries to explain it all it’s difficult because of the language barrier and the stigma mental health issues can raise within families and communities. I don’t think mental health services really understand the background trauma involved that continues to this day.

We need to take more of a role in educating the community and services about equality and fairness in terms of the availability of services and the ability of people to access them. Not everyone has access to the internet, and many elderly people or those living in multi-person households miss out.

I started Engage in ME for people who were not able to access other services due to cultural differences, stigma, language barriers. We work with partners including Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT), Healthwatch Lewisham and Lewisham Refugee & Migrant Network to help these communities self-identify mental health issues and understand them in a cultural setting.

But it’s vital we secure funding for interpreters or we will miss a lot of people.”

Sheena:

“Education and stigma are two different things.”

“I believe stereotyping is one of the biggest causes of inequalities in mental health services. There’s still a lot of institutional racism when it comes to dealing with people from diverse communities and we need to be able to challenge that.

People don’t fully understand cultural bias. We can educate the communities but people forget about the stigma, and education and stigma are two different things.

When people tell us their lived experience of mental health, we accept what they’re saying. But if someone says that something doesn’t sit right with them and there could be an element of racism or sexism, it’s questioned. We need to listen to what people have to say, to believe them.

Other issues such as reduced immigration mean there are fewer people about to act as translators. Finances and disability are also issues: people might not have the money to travel to mental health services or might be physically unable to do so but have no other way of getting there.

The Culturally Diverse Communities Project can make a difference. But because there is such a huge need it can only scrape the top. That said, it’s absolutely brilliant that it’s here, and I do think that given the right people and resources it could potentially save lives.”