我们的服务:年轻痴呆症活动家小组

在新系列的第一篇中,我们展示了不同 BLG Mind 服务的工作,以及它们对使用它们的人的影响。

我们从年轻的痴呆症活动家小组开始。 该服务在试点成功后于 2021 年 65 月正式推出,面向年轻痴呆症患者(诊断为 XNUMX 岁或以下的人)以及照顾他们的朋友和家人。 

该小组提供同伴支持和活动,以及参与提高对与年轻痴呆症有关的问题的认识的机会。 

YODA 保龄球

YODAs 享受保龄球比赛。

BLG Mind 的 MindCare Young Onset Dementia Activists 团体被不同程度地描述为“改变生活”、“了不起”和“就像在你身边铺了一条温暖的毯子”。

显然,这个团体对参与者来说意义重大,他们被他们的首字母缩写词 YODA 亲切地称为,以及关心他们的人。

“来到这个团体就像在你身上盖了一条温暖的毯子。”

在 Bromley 痴呆症服务经理 Saira Addison 提议创建一项专门针对年轻痴呆症患者的服务后,该组织于 2021 年 XNUMX 月开始运作。

Saira 说:“大多数痴呆症服务都是针对老年人的,因此无法提供患有痴呆症的年轻人所需的那种支持。

“在我们成立 YODA 之前,我们让年仅 XNUMX 岁的人获得 MindCare 痴呆症服务,我强烈认为我们应该创造一些可以为年轻人更有可能面临的问题提供支持的东西,例如就业和与他们的关系孩子们。 我们还希望提供更适合身体更活跃的年轻人的活动。”

YODA 向所有生活在布罗姆利、刘易舍姆和格林威治的年轻痴呆症患者以及照顾他们的朋友或家人开放。 该服务是由使用它的人设计的:从一开始,YODA 就大量参与了该服务的形式,Saira 和她的团队围绕他们的意见进行设计。

自该团体成立以来,目前排名 16 的 YODA 参与了从保龄球到宝莱坞舞蹈,以及与微型马会面以在 M25 内品尝最好的馅饼、土豆泥和酒的各种活动。 他们甚至在伦敦朗廷酒店与舞台和银幕明星马克·加蒂斯一起享用下午茶。

虽然这项服务的一个重点是有趣,但离开安全的家去参加团体的行为本身就可以对参与者的心理健康产生巨大的积极影响。 患有年轻痴呆症的人可能会变得与社会隔绝,这可能会导致他们的身心健康下降。 研究表明,参与新的活动对患有这种疾病的人和他们的亲人都有很大的好处。

Saira 说:“参与活动并推动自己做新的事情给了 YODA 一种参与感、自尊、目标和快乐。 它在情感上提升了他们,以及陪伴他们的亲人。”

其中一项活动是该团体最近前往埃塞克斯 (Essex) 品尝 Sainsy's Pie and Mash 店的美食(如下图)。

“那次旅行对 YODA 来说尤其具有挑战性,因为他们远离布罗姆利的舒适区,”Saira 说。 入住 Sainsy's 后,团队很高兴得知餐厅的和蔼可亲的老板丹尼·塞恩斯 (Danny Sains) 和他的妻子卡琳 (Carlene) 是伦敦 Selfridges 获得婚礼场地许可证后第一对结婚的夫妇。

“丹尼非常热情,YODA 夫妇听到他和卡琳在 Selfridges 结婚时创造了历史感到很着迷。 这让特别的一天变得更加特别,”Saira 回忆道。

YODA 夫妇在 Sainsy's 享用馅饼、土豆泥和酒类盛宴

该小组还致力于提高人们对年轻痴呆症相关问题的认识。 在新的一年里,他们将与 Lewisham West 和 Penge 的议员 Ellie Reeves 会面,并为 Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust 制作的关于病情的传单做出了贡献。

YODA 对他们的团队充满热情,尽管他们生活在改变生活的条件下,但他们最近还是在贝肯汉姆广场公园周围进行了 5 公里的赞助步行。 这就是对服务的善意,捐款飙升至超过 2,500 英镑的目标,超过 5,000 英镑。

YODA 显然是其成员生活中的一股巨大的积极力量,他们经常在小组的每周会议日程之外作为朋友聚在一起。

贝弗利的丈夫凯文患有年轻的痴呆症,当她总结 YODA 对她意味着什么时,她可能代表所有成员。

“我无法告诉你它有什么不同,”她说。 “一旦你得到诊断,你会感到非常孤立,但因为这个团队,我们遇到了一些我们不会遇到的不可思议的人,我们都互相支持。

“如果没有这个项目,我们每天都会继续奋斗,生活中没有乐趣。”

YODA 在马戏技能研讨会上飞得很高

尤达画廊

点击图片以放大。

更多

MindCare Young Onset Dementia Activists group (YODA) 向布罗姆利、刘易舍姆和格林威治 65 岁之前患有痴呆症的任何人以及照顾他们的家人或朋友开放。 了解更多.

年轻的痴呆症发作活动家新闻

年轻的痴呆症活动家为他们的团体筹集了 5,000 英镑

年轻的痴呆症活动家与夏洛克明星一起享用下午茶

Our services: Young Onset Dementia Activists group

In the first of a new series, we showcase the work of different BLG Mind services, and the impact they have on those who use them.

We begin with the Young Onset Dementia Activists group. The service, which was officially launched in August 2021 following a successful pilot, is aimed at people living with young onset dementia (those who receive a diagnosis aged 65 or under) and the friends and family who care for them. 

The group offers peer support and activities, as well as the opportunity to be involved in raising awareness of issues connected to young onset dementia. 

The YODAs bowling

The YODAs enjoying a bowling session.

BLG Mind’s MindCare Young Onset Dementia Activists group has been variously described as “life-changing”, “amazing” and “like having a warm blanket put around you”.

The group clearly means a great deal to its participants, who are affectionately known by their acronym YODAs, as well as to those who care for them.

“Coming to the group is like having a warm blanket put around you.”

The group began life in May 2021 after Bromley Dementia Services manager Saira Addison proposed the creation of a service specifically aimed at people with young onset dementia.

Saira said: “Most dementia services are aimed at older people, so aren’t able to offer the kind of support that younger people who have dementia need.

“Before we set up YODA, we had people as young as forty accessing the MindCare dementia services, and I felt strongly that we should create something that could offer support around the issues younger people are more likely to face, such as employment and relationships with children. We also wanted to offer activities that were more geared towards younger people who are more physically active.”

YODA is open to everyone living with young onset dementia in Bromley, Lewisham and Greenwich, as well as the friends or family members who care for them. The service was designed by the people using it: from the beginning, the YODAs were heavily involved in the form the service took, with Saira and her team designing it around their input.

Since the group’s formation, the YODAs, who currently number 16, have participated in everything from bowling to Bollywood dancing, and meeting miniature horses to sampling the best pie, mash and liquor within the M25. They have even enjoyed afternoon tea with stage and screen star Mark Gatiss at London’s Langham Hotel.

While a key focus of the service is fun, the mere act of leaving the safety of home to attend the group can be hugely positive to the mental wellbeing of its participants. People with young onset dementia can become socially isolated, which may lead to a decline in their mental and physical health. Studies have shown that engaging in new activities can have significant benefits for both the person living with the condition and their loved ones.

Saira said: “Being involved in activities and pushing themselves to do new things gives the YODAs a sense of engagement, self-esteem, purpose and joy. It lifts them up emotionally, as well as their loved ones who accompany them.”

One such activity was the group’s recent trip to Essex to sample the delights of Sainsy’s Pie and Mash shop (pictured below).

“That trip was particularly challenging for the YODAs because it took them a long way out of their comfort zone of Bromley,” said Saira. Once ensconced in Sainsy’s, the group was delighted to learn that the restaurant’s genial owner, Danny Sains, and his wife Carlene were the first ever couple to get married at Selfridges in London after it acquired a wedding venue licence.

“Danny was so welcoming, and the YODAs were fascinated to hear that he and Carlene made history when they married at Selfridges. It made a special day out even more special,” Saira recalled.

The YODAs enjoying a pie, mash and liquor feast at Sainsy's

The group also works to raise awareness of the issues around young onset dementia. They will be meeting with Ellie Reeves, MP for Lewisham West and Penge, in the new year, and have contributed to a leaflet on the condition produced by Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust.

So passionately do the YODAs feel about their group that despite living with a life-changing condition they recently undertook a 5km sponsored walk around Beckenham Place Park. Such is the goodwill towards the service that donations soared past the £2,500 target to reach more than £5,000.

YODA is clearly a hugely positive force in the life of its members, who regularly get together as friends outside of the group’s weekly meeting schedule.

Beverly, whose husband Kevin lives with young onset dementia, probably speaks for all of the members when she sums up what YODA means to her.

“I can’t tell you what a difference it’s made,” she said. “Once you get your diagnosis, you feel very isolated, but because of the group we have met some incredible people we wouldn’t have met otherwise, and we all support each other.

“Without this project, we’d have carried on fighting through every day with no joy in our lives.”

The YODAs flying high at a circus skills workshop

YODA Gallery

Click on the images to enlarge.

More

The MindCare Young Onset Dementia Activists group (YODA) is open to anyone in Bromley, Lewisham and Greenwich who has developed dementia before the age of 65, as well as the family or friends who care for them. Find out more.

Young Dementia Onset Activists news

Young Onset Dementia Activists raise £5,000 for their group

Young Onset Dementia Activists enjoy afternoon tea with Sherlock star