受到他人筹款的启发

我们总是对人们会在多大程度上支持我们的工作感到惊讶。 无论是来自儿童蛋糕销售的 5 英镑,还是来自慈善舞会的 5,000 英镑,每一笔捐款都会产生巨大的影响,并有助于支持我们的重要服务。

雨果的马拉松努力

雨果·科恩Hugo Cohn 于去年 XNUMX 月参加了泰晤士河曲折马拉松,为我们的 布罗姆利痴呆症支持中心 在它支持他的好朋友贝基的母亲之后。

他说:“痴呆症中心是对贝基的巨大支持,贝基的母亲在年轻时就不幸被诊断出患有痴呆症。 我自己的家人也患有痴呆症,这一直是我心中的一个事业,很荣幸为当地的慈善机构筹集资金,该慈善机构帮助了我的朋友和她的家人。”

雨果在被封锁期间被跑步虫咬伤后,决定跑马拉松是筹集资金的理想方式。 他说:“几年来我一直很随意地跑步,但在封锁期间,我发现这是减压和呼吸急需新鲜空气的好方法。 跑步对我的心理健康产生了奇迹,我总是对自己说‘跑步后你总是感觉更好’,以此来强迫自己走出家门。”

在当天的支持下,雨果在令人印象深刻的 52 小时 XNUMX 分钟内完成了比赛。 “我在比赛中肯定有最多的人群(雨果的支持者如下图),当我真正挣扎到最后时,他们让我继续前进。”

经过出色的努力,雨果与朋友和家人一起享用了酒吧餐,然后在接下来的周末与妻子进行了一次水疗之旅。

他非常感谢所有支持他的人,尤其是当天给予支持的人。

“我要非常感谢所有为这样一个有价值的事业捐款的人,以及那些在 XNUMX 月寒冷的早晨早起支持我的人。 与我交谈过的每个人都有自己的关于痴呆症如何影响他们生活的故事,因此能够走出去筹集资金帮助当地不得不忍受痴呆症影响的人们真是太好了。

雨果科恩的朋友和家人“BLG Mind 是一个非常棒的组织,可以在当地帮助很多人。 我见过他们如何帮助我的一个非常亲密的朋友和她的家人,当他们经历一个难以置信的困难和不安的情况时。 他们与他们所支持的社区建立这种个人关系的方式令人惊叹,这一点非常重要,因为 Covid 和封锁的影响仍在影响人们的孤立感。

“为 BLG Mind 筹集资金将帮助他们走出去支持许多其他人。”

Hugo 筹集了 1,665 英镑,通过他的公司提供的配套资金,为布罗姆利痴呆症中心总共带来了惊人的 3,330 英镑。

“BLG Mind 是一个非常棒的组织,它在当地帮助了这么多人。我看到他们如何帮助我的一个非常亲密的朋友和她的家人,当他们经历一个难以置信的困难和不安的情况时。”

筹款灵感

即兴发挥

简筹集了惊人的 925 英镑,并实现了她最大的抱负之一。

简说:“当我即将迎来一个里程碑式的生日时,我决定我很想实现我最大的翼走梦想之一,同时也为当地的慈善机构布罗姆利、刘易舍姆和格林威治心灵筹集资金。 我选择了 BLG Mind,因为当他患有痴呆症时,他们支持父亲和我自己。”

有球

娜塔莉·佩恩 (Natalie Payne) 是一名志愿者,她策划了一个成功的年度慈善舞会,连续三年帮助 BLG Mind,每次活动筹集了约 5,000 英镑。

“患有抑郁症已经有很多年了,并且得到了BLG Mind的一些不可思议的支持,我拿着Ball来筹集资金,希望至少有一个人能够在他们需要的时候得到同样的支持。”

娜塔莉·佩恩(Natalie Payne)

有筹款查询吗?

如果您需要任何帮助或协助,请致电我们的筹款团队 020 3328 0365,发送电子邮件 筹款@blgmind.org.uk 或填写下面的查询表。

发送电子邮件

Be inspired by others’ fundraising

We are always amazed at how far people will go to support our work. Whether it’s £5 from a children’s cake sale or £5,000 from a charity ball, every donation makes a huge difference and helps support our vital services.

Hugo's marathon effort

Hugo CohnHugo Cohn took on the Thames Meander Marathon in November last year to raise funds for our Bromley Dementia Support Hub after it supported the mother of his good friend Becky.

He says: “The Dementia Hub was a massive support to Becky,  whose mother was sadly diagnosed with dementia at a young age. Having had family members suffer from dementia myself, it has always been a cause close to my heart and it was an honour to raise money for a local charity who had helped my friend and her family so much.”

Hugo decided running a marathon was the ideal way to raise funds after getting bitten by the running bug during lockdown. He says: “I’ve run fairly casually for a few years, but during lockdown I found it a great way to decompress and get some much needed fresh air. Running has done wonders for my mental health and I always say to myself ‘you always feel better after a run’ as way to force myself out the door.”

Buoyed up by the support he had on the day, Hugo completed the event in an impressive three hours and 52 minutes. “I definitely had the biggest crowd at the race (Hugo’s supporters are pictured below) and they kept me going when I was really struggling towards the end.”

Following his sterling effort, Hugo enjoyed a pub meal with friends and family, then a spa trip the following weekend with his wife.

He is deeply grateful to everyone who supported him, especially those who gave their support on the day.

“I’d like to say a huge thanks to everyone who donated to such a worthy cause, and to those who got up early on a cold November morning to support me. Everyone I’ve spoken to had their own story of how dementia has affected their life so it was great to be able to go out there and raise money that will help people locally who have to live with the effects of dementia.

Hugo Cohn's friends and famiily“BLG Mind is such a fantastic organisation that helps so many people on a local level. I’ve seen how they helped a very close friend of mine and her family when they were going through an incredibly difficult and upsetting situation. The way they create such a personal relationship with the community they support is amazing to see and this is so important as the effect of Covid and lockdowns is still having an impact of people’s feeling of isolation.

“Raising money for BLG Mind will help them to go out and support so many other people.”

Hugo raised £1,665 which, with match-funding from his company, brought in a fantastic £3,330 in total for the Bromley Dementia Hub.

"BLG Mind is such a fantastic organisation that helps so many people on a local level. I’ve seen how they helped a very close friend of mine and her family when they were going through an incredibly difficult and upsetting situation."

fundraising inspiration

Winging it

Jane raised an amazing £925 and got to achieve one of her greatest ambitions.

Jane said: “As I am reaching a milestone birthday, I decided decided I would love to fulfil one of my biggest dreams of wing walking and in so doing also raise money for the local charity, Bromley, Lewisham & Greenwich Mind. I chose BLG Mind as they supported both dad and myself when he was suffering with dementia.”

Having a ball

Natalie Payne is a volunteer who has masterminded a successful annual charity ball in aid of BLG Mind three years running, raising around £5,000 at each event.

“Having suffered from depression for a number of years and having received some incredible support from BLG Mind, I hold the Ball to raise money in the hope that at least one other person could receive the same support in their time of need.”

Natalie Payne

Got a fundraising query?

If you need any help or assistance please give our fundraising team a call on 020 3328 0365, email fundraising@blgmind.org.uk or complete the enquiry form below.

Email us